Judging Panel

An independent panel of recognised and expert leaders will determine the winners of the Manufacturing Excellence Awards.

We understand the importance of a fair and objective judging process. That's why we assemble a prestigious panel of industry leaders, renowned for their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm, and expertise in the manufacturing industry.

Our selection process is meticulous. Judges are bound by strict confidentiality agreements and declare any potential conflicts of interest. Entries with conflicts are reassigned, ensuring complete impartiality.

This unwavering commitment to integrity is the foundation of our awards programme. Become a part of recognising industry excellence. If you're interested in joining the judging panel, email your details to judges@businessriver.com

A comprehensive judging process has been developed to decide the winners of the Manufacturing Excellence Awards

2024 Judging Panel

Denis Dowling

Full Professor School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, University College Dublin

Prof. Denis Dowling directs the Science Foundation Ireland funded I-Form Advanced Manufacturing Centre, which is headquartered at University College Dublin (UCD). Associated with the I-Form’s Centre, are over 120 academics and researchers from 8 educational institutions across Ireland. VIEW MORE

Jill Ellis

Senior Lecturer in Food Manufacturing, University of Lincoln, National Centre for Food Manufacturing

Jill Ellis is a Senior Lecturer in Food Manufacturing at the National Centre for Food Manufacturing (NCFM), part of the University of Lincoln. With 20+ years' experience in product development, Jill is passionate about teaching essential skills to food industry apprentices and students. VIEW MORE

Enda Giles

Head of Manufacturing, Dawn Farms

Enda Giles is the Head of Manufacturing in Dawn Farm Foods with over 30 years’ experience in operations and management roles within the cooked and fermented meats sector VIEW MORE

Rocco Lupoi

Associate Professor, School of Engineering - TCD

Rocco Lupoi is an Associate Professor in TCD within the School of Engineering. He is the co-founder of the Science and Technology in Advanced Manufacturing (STAM) research group, where he leads the additive manufacturing and coatings research topics. He has published over 170 papers in the area. VIEW MORE

Aidan McKee

Chief People Officer, WaterWipes

Aidan McKee, Chief People Officer at WaterWipes has played a pivotal role in the company’s development and global growth agenda to date. Highly commended CIPD ‘Excellence in HR Leadership’ award winner, Aidan is the Executive lead on the WaterWipes global strategic people agenda. VIEW MORE

Bernard Naughton

Assistant Professor, Trinity College Dublin, University of Dublin

Dr Naughton is an interdisciplinary researcher and Academic Director of the MSc in Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technology, at the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Trinity College Dublin. His research and teaching focusses on medicine quality, and healthcare innovation. VIEW MORE

Joe O'Callaghan

Programme DIrector, UCC

Joe is Programme Director of the UCC Diploma in Food Manufacturing Management. He also consults and lectures in a variety of areas relating to manufacturing excellence in the Food, Pharma and Medtech sectors. VIEW MORE